Give Yourself a Break

Drowning HandsI started a new job about 3 weeks ago. It has been overwhelming. I’m that kid just learning to swim, who surfaces just long enough to gulp in some air and then sinks down again.

It doesn’t help that the person who had the job previously was here for 16 years and a graduate of the school. She knew things just because she knew them. They aren’t written down and people don’t know she did them until I don’t. For a person who likes to be organized and on top of things, it’s nerve wracking. Every time I think I have one thing figured out, here’s a list of other things I didn’t do. And for a person who is their greatest critic, it’s demoralizing.

The other day, a colleague asked me into her office to talk about our schedules. My response was, “What did I forget this time?” She ignored my little comment and asked for some help with a few class transitions.

The next morning, this same colleague stopped me on the way into school. She said she had been thinking about my comment and assured me that everyone on our team thought I was doing a wonderful job! How I needed that!

What kind words can you share with others to lift their spirits?

More importantly, what kind words can you share with yourself?

Prayer Focus: Those beginning something new and those helping them!

 

2 thoughts on “Give Yourself a Break

  1. I am so glad I’m on the list, Wendy and I know that many of us have felt these same feelings in much the same way from time to time. I have even caught myself saying “just one more thing, I need just one more thing” but it didn’t come and even if it did, I found the capacity to cope through my faith. We are so proud of you and love you so much. God bless you and the effort you put forth every single day. May God bless you abundantly.

Share your thoughts...

