Finding Contentment

When I was young, I had delusions of grandeur. I was going to own a beautiful home with a beautiful family and everything was going to be beautiful. I was going to be an actress. People would laugh and cry and forget their worries. I was going to be a singer. People would pay to hear me perform. I was going to be a writer. People would say I was a literary genius. I would make a difference. I would transform lives. I would be remembered.

Phil 4 12After years of living and learning, I have exchanged my delusions of grandeur for my joys in reality. I live in a home in a beautiful mountains of God’s creation. I celebrate my family. Sometimes we are beautiful; sometimes we are dysfunctional. But we are always family. My greatest audience now is a congregation of my friends and fellow seekers. I usually make them laugh, but have made them cry too. I sing to them and sometimes they put money in the offering plate and pay God for the gift he gave me. I write. The verdict is still out on the literary genius thing. (Okay, so I haven’t traded that one in yet.) I do make a difference to my family, my friends, my students, and anyone who will let me. I’ve realized that I can’t transform lives, but I know who can and I give Him all the power and the credit. And as for being remembered, only time will tell…

May we find contentment in our lives!

One thought on “Finding Contentment

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Delusions of Motherhood | Encourage One Another Daily

Share your thoughts...

