Honoring Children

Tonight, kids are on my mind and heart, and not necessarily mine. There are two in particular I’d like to share.

My Third Son!!!

My Third Son!!!

The first is a little fellow in Rwanda, Mucyo Gislain. He is six years old, only five days younger than my Little Man. He lives with his parents and together they struggle for their existence. He isn’t in school right now, but likes to play ball games (we’re betting it’s soccer). He is now one of our children. Our family sponsored him through World Vision at the Third Day Concert on Sunday.

We are so blessed here in America. (In our book study, we read this week that simply purchasing the book would be an entire week’s earnings in most countries. Think about how many books you have gathering dust in your home. We did.) We should be doing more. We are called to do more. Coach and I have been discussing ways to teach and model Christian service to the boys. It’s hard to find mission opportunities for little ones. Most service requires more capacity than a 3-year-old and 6-year-old have, but this is such a formative time we don’t want to ignore it. We decided sponsoring a child was a great start. Through our faithfulness to God’s calling, we now have ongoing opportunities to discuss all sorts of topics with the boys. We hope to watch Mucyo and Little Man grow through the years together. As I pray for my boys and their futures, I now pray for Mucyo’s, his family, and his country. We are excited to see how God will use us in his life and how God will use him in ours!

Another child who is on my mind today is a sweet little girl, not yet 5. I first met her when she was a few weeks old sleeping in her mother’s arms. Little Man played with her and her brother. Her mother is a kindred spirit who I have spent countless hours talking to, laughing with, and learning from. She helped me through trials and I walked with her through her divorce and return home to her parents. Today I learned the sad news that this little girl’s father is now in jail for his failure to honor his daughter. My heart and soul have ached for her, her mother, her family, and even her father. What a situation! What a tragedy!

All over the world there are children who need help, who need protection, who need God’s love. These are only two. There are millions more. And you have your own stories that touch your life.

Jesus loved children.

And they were bringing children to him that he might touch them, and the disciples rebuked them. But when Jesus saw it, he was indignant and said to them, “Let the children come to me; do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of God. Truly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child shall not enter it.” And he took them in his arms and blessed them, laying his hands on them. (Mark 10:13-16 ESV)

May we always honor children,

building them up in God’s love!

One thought on “Honoring Children

  1. Pingback: You Never Know | Encourage One Another Daily

Share your thoughts...

