Declutter Your World

Bilbao, Spain

Bilbao, Spain

This summer some friends moved to the northern coast of Spain to teach. They sold most of their possessions before they left. Some of them at our yard sale. As I watched them part with almost everything in their home, I questioned whether or not I would be able to do that.

Though Coach and I have never really talked about it, I’d love to live and work abroad for a period of time. After we said goodbye one last time, I shared my thoughts with him. He  too had always thought about it and agreed that living, in say Germany, would be amazing, when the boys are a bit older, but agreed that we have too many things that would hold us back. To be honest, I have too many things that would hold me back. That’s a hard pill to swallow.

My treasures could conceivably keep me from the treasures of life elsewhere, of showing our boys another world, and of adventure. What a shame!

So, I have begun the process of decluttering my world. I started with the easy stuff…stuff. Two yard sales, eBay, and some online yard sale groups. I’m making progress, but there is still much more to go.

Next I turned my attention to my body. I’m not getting any younger, so now is the time to get back in shape, drop those last pounds of pregnancy weight, for the rest of my life. I’m off the a decent start. I stopped eating unhealthy snacks at work and late at night. I’ve already lost 6 lbs. Go me!

What about the really difficult stuff? Decluttering my mind and my heart. These are not nearly as easy. Getting rid of stuff and weight is visible. You can tell a difference when you open a closet or pull on a pair of pants. You can’t see a clearer mind or purer heart.

But I’m working on these too. I’m reaching out to people with whom I need to mend fences or acknowledge their impact on my life. I’m prioritizing my life. I’m being more responsible to my family and myself. I’m decluttering!

For inspiration, I’ve turned to Burlap to Cashmere song:

May we remember that our true treasure is in heaven!

Share your thoughts...

