Gratitude and Hope

North Georgia Annual Conference 2013

North Georgia Annual Conference 2013

Today was the first day of the North Georgia Annual Conference. I am a Young Adult At-Large Lay Delegate. My father went when I was younger, so I have lived the event vicariously through him, but never on my own.

It was AMAZING!

I was moved by the fellowship, the music, the messages, and the imperative to share Christ. I cried, grinned like an idiot, and dreamt of ways to serve more effectively.

Here are some of my highlights:

  • The opening hymn sing lead by Timothy Miller, a heavenly blessed tenor;
  • Watching the youth of our conference carry in the cross and the Bible;
  • The integration of different worship styles and languages. I loved singing in Spanish, listening to Hebrews in Swahili, and worshiping with Bahamian praise songs;
  • Bishop Snorton’s message about activating our faith like a debit card. Powerful and relatable;
  • Receiving communion for the delegates from El Salvador;
  • The delegate from the Bahamian Methodist Habitat, “Don’t pray for us. Pray with us. God is already in the Bahamas;”
  • The spokesman for the Kenyan bridge who talked about a ministry having SMARTS (Simple, Meaningful, Action, Relatable, Transformational, Scalable). That gives me a lot to think about as we build our small group ministry at First Clayton;
  • And being with my lay servant friends!

I am full of gratitude for the opportunity to serve and hope for another powerful day tomorrow.

May we always find gratitude and hope!

One thought on “Gratitude and Hope

  1. Pingback: Overwhelmed by Opportunity | Encourage One Another Daily

Share your thoughts...

