Weird and Unaware

I am weird. I like to watch foreign films, play Modern Warfare 3, write, sing opera and Taylor Swift, tent camp, bake, garden, and read military autobiographies. I like to think I’m a Renaissance woman, but I may just be weird.

I embrace my weird.

Col. Gregory "Pappy" Boyington

Col. Gregory “Pappy” Boyington

Currently I am reading the autobiography of a US Marine Corps Col. Gregory “Pappy” Boyington, Baa Baa Black Sheep. My father is a fan of his and the tv series from the 70s. Pappy’s autobiography was mentioned in another WWII biography I recently read, Unbroken, about Louis Zamperini, which is being made into a movie. I was so enraptured with Zamperini’s story that I wanted to see Pappy Boyington’s take on him, so I borrowed my dad’s well-read paperback.

In the midst of Pappy’s retelling of Corsair dog fights, he paused and became reflective. His words are truth.

Words and gestures of encouragement come in strange ways. In the same sense that we often may be unaware of giving them to others, so, too, others may be equally unaware of giving them to us. ~Gregory “Pappy” Boyington in Baa Baa Black Sheep

It’s easy to get caught up in our lives, our check lists, our jobs, and our own world. If Pappy can remember the importance and weight of actions in the midst of war, we can certainly pause and consider our words and gestures, consider the ways in which they can encourage those around us in the midst of our lives.

Let us aspire to lives that encourage unaware!

3 thoughts on “Weird and Unaware

  1. Pingback: Happy Veterans Day: Media Monday | Encourage One Another Daily

Share your thoughts...

