The Remnants of Thanksgiving

Pumpkin and Apple Pie Leftovers
from Turkey Day

Thanksgiving is over. The remnants are slowly leaving the refrigerator. The family that gathered around the table has all gone home. The cleaning up is done. The memories of another Thanksgiving remain.

I was blessed the Sunday before Thanksgiving with the opportunity to preach again. I began with the lectionary to select my scripture. It has not steered me wrong yet! Hebrews 10:11-25 spoke to me on several levels (it is says “encourage one another”) and I began work. It was a crazy week and I ended up preaching from bullets and few nicely crafted transition sentences. Last night, I finished expanding those bullets into the words I spoke. I humbly share this remnant of my Thanksgiving with you.

Family Traditions Hebrews 10.11-25

As I crafted it in my head it was a wonderful walk down memory lane. As I preached it was a sweet, yet painfully emotional story to tell. I almost lost it several times. And the song at the end I think was the capstone it needed. In case you aren’t familiar with the song, here it is in all Celine’s glory.

Following the service, I had several of my fellow church members thank me for my honest, touching, and helpful words. One man is facing his first Thanksgiving without his mother and found comfort in my words. Another man complimented my use of story. Another man complimented my descriptions He said he could imagine everything I was talking about and it brought back wonderful memories of his own. The best compliment was from a retired Methodist preacher who asked where my church was. When I told him I was just a lay speaker, he told me that I should have my own church. (For the record, I don’t feel called to run a church, but called to teach and preach the Word. And there is a huge difference!) I am grateful that my words were received so well.

Thank you for allowing me to share this with you. It is a piece of my heart!

Blessings on you today as I was blessed in sharing these words with my church ~w

One thought on “The Remnants of Thanksgiving

  1. Pingback: A Big Thanksgiving Thank You! | Encourage One Another Daily

Share your thoughts...

