Me: Media Monday

I’ve spent a lot of time with my husband and boys this summer. It is such a blessing, because seeing their joy and excitement revives my tired spirit and energizes my weary soul. I recently wrote a post about my husband, My 6’5″ Baby, talking about our relationship and how we do what we do together. I’ve received such positive feedback from family, friends, and my fellow bloggers, which when I stop to think about it isn’t surprising at all since he is so important to me and such a huge part of who I am. So I will expand on one of the many reasons I love him.

The lyrics below are from the song “Me” by Faith Hill, which was released while I was in college, doing the dating scene, and trying to find God’s match for me (but that’s a whole other post). I knew that I didn’t need to conform to anyone else’s standards, that God would give me someone who accepted me for me, but it was a challenge. This song was my hope, every time I felt pressured to be something I wasn’t, usually go against my Christian principles. One day, someone would love me for me…

 

“Me” from Faith Hill’s 1998 album Faith

I’ve changed my hair, my clothes, almost
Everything about myself
I can’t believe I tried to be somebody I’m not
For someone else, yeah
It took finding you to finally understand
What it’s like to be loved for who I am

Me
That’s all I have to give
What you get is what you see, yeah
No second guessing, no pretending
With you, all I ever have to be is me

I can laugh or cry, don’t have to hide
The way I feel
Rain or shine, by my side proving we’ve got
A love that’s real
An old pair of jeans or an evening gown
You still see the same girl that you found

Me
That’s all I have to give
What you get is what you see, yeah
No second guessing, no pretending
With you, all I ever have to be is me

Me
That’s all I have to give
What you get is what you see, yeah
No second guessing, no pretending
With you, all I ever have to be is me
All I ever need to be, oh yeah
All I ever have to be is me

 

While I was hopefully singing this song in my dorm room, I had faith (no pun intended) that when I was ready and he was ready and God was ready, I would meet my future husband. As I’m impatient, I kept looking. And with the way God works and His sense of humor, He had given me my match already, I just didn’t know it yet. My husband and I were casual acquaintances and then friends for a whole year, while I was pining away singing this silly song. Finally, God let me in on His little plan. It took my husband a bit longer, but here we are today, nearly 13 years later, still as in love as ever and loved for who we are.

My hope and prayer is that you are blessed with people who love you just as you are. It will change your life!

***

Now a word from the official sponsor of Media Monday, someone who loves you just as you are: “Have a great day!” signed God.

Share your thoughts...

