My 6’5″ Baby :)

Carolina’s Anson Dorrance and Coach

My husband is an amazing man! He balances teaching, coaching, family, church, and sanity. We have been married almost 10 years (August 3) and together for almost 13 (October 2). He is my best friend and the love of my life (and all those crazy phrases people say in movies:  You complete me, You make me want to be a better man, etc. Take your pick.) Together we are unstoppable. We can do anything (well, that’s how I feel). In ten years, we’ve dealt with a major remodel (not hiring contractors, doing it ourselves), moving five times, buying two houses–selling one and filing bankruptcy over the other not selling–attending five different churches, working twelve different jobs (between us) and both tutoring, and starting a family.

Part of our success is our ability to know what the other needs and acting on it (other parts include an insane amount of faith and incorrigible sense of humor). We often do man-to-man coverage with the boys and tend to divide household chores down the middle. We are two reliable, resourceful, independent people and we intuitively know when the other needs help and step in. It’s part of the joy and success of our marriage.

From time to time though it’s really nice to be needed. And right now, I’m needed. I get to help. I need to help. As I’ve mentioned, he coaches soccer. He’s been coaching for 9 years now, boys and girls seasons, JV and Varsity, in one way or another, with a travel or rec team sprinkled in here and there. That’s a lot of soccer and a lot of time on your feet. If he had his way, he’d be on the pitch everyday. And if I had my way, I’d be with him. (I used to be his assistant or jv coach before the monkeys.) As part of this on-your-feet lifestyle of the classroom and pitch, he developed a crazy callous on the bottom of his foot and he’s just dealt with it for about 7 years. He had it looked at once about 4 years ago, but decided he didn’t really have the time for the treatment and recovery. Well this summer during a little downtime, I suggested he get it taken care of, so about 3 or 4 weeks ago he went to the podiatrist and they treated it with some nasty stuff. He was seriously uncomfortable for a few days and then mildly annoyed for a lot more. He went back yesterday for the follow-up and it needed to be treated again. So here we go again…

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not happy he’s suffering and has to limp. I’m just saying that it’s nice to be needed and to have the opportunity to help him. He feels much better with his foot elevated, so that’s where he stays, in a chair in the living room. I get to help him, to take time to show him just how much I love him. I, dare I say it, get to serve him. It’s a nice little change of pace for us, the busy, resourceful couple that we are. I’m glad I get to lend a helping hand and take care of my 6’5″ baby. (Did I mention I’m only 5’3″? See there’s that sense of humor…)

7 thoughts on “My 6’5″ Baby :)

  1. What a lovely piece to share with us. Please give Baron my best. I’ll be praying for his healing. God bless you for being a servant!

    • Thanks SR! That means a lot. My husband approved it before I posted it, but it’s all true. We have been very blessed to have each other and to fit together seamlessly (most of the time :)). Blessings! ~w

  2. Pingback: Me: Media Monday « Encourage One Another Daily

  3. Pingback: What’s up with the monkeys? « Encourage One Another Daily

  4. Pingback: Those Blinkin’ Christmas Lights | Encourage One Another Daily

Share your thoughts...

