Time Spent with Your Children

Each day with children is an adventure. From the moment you conceive, they change your life forever. Some of the changes are welcomed (you should technically have someone to take of you in your old age.) Some are not so welcome (sleep, going to the bathroom by yourself, and finding things where you left them.) Taken together, however, children are amazing! They teach you, make you laugh, and love you unconditionally (for a while.) They help you put things in perspective. For instance, trying to clean a house with children is like brushing your teeth while eating an Oreo (totally stole that from a friend). But I digress…

Tonight, I decided to make a conscientious effort to spend some quality time with my boys, away from the myriad of distractions in our house. After a dinner of yummy leftovers (In the summer those of us who live on boarding school campuses are forced into our kitchens for three months. In rebellion, I overcook amazing meals, so I can cook less.), I decided we would take a walk, a nature walk as Little Man calls it. As they finished their dinner of turkey ham, au gratin potatoes, green beans, and fruit salad (told you it was yummy), I created this colorful scavenger hunt list for our walk. (Please do not judge the artistic ability too harshly. I fully realize that my cow and dog look more like a dog and cat. Little Man only recognized the cow when I pointed out the tail and I conceded that the dog did look more like a cat. And our cat Princess was the final highlighter X of the night. You see, when God was passing out the drawing skills, he passed me over completely and heaped them on my sister.) It was a great walk with Little Brother in the stroller and Little Man running from place to place along the dirt road in quest of the items on our list. We talked and walked and laughed. We stopped to see friends. We were a family apart from the distractions of life. What a great night!

And now Little Brother is in bed (there are angels singing) and Little Man and I are getting to play with his EyePet, Tigger. Well, you can only avoid the distractions of life for so long, because after he goes to bed, I feel a yet-to-be-discovered BBC miniseries calling my name.

Love and prayers that you have a great night as well! ~w

7 thoughts on “Time Spent with Your Children

    • Thanks. It was a spur of the moment thing that worked, so I thought I’d share. Little Man is very energetic and frequently distracted. I let him hold the paper, but I kept the highlighter, so he stayed nearby. It was a lot of fun!

  1. I wanted to stop by and see what the doctor said today. I think it was today you had appointment?? Was anything set as far as surgery? God Bless, SR

    • Thanks for asking. It was today. I am still turning over the information in my head and haven’t had time to pray and meditate toward an encouraging post. It will come. Here’s the update: Met the ENT in Gainesville (an hour away). He does need surgery, but as it’s not infected there is no rush. The location however is a bit more complicated than most so it is important that it be removed before an infection sets in, and one will given enough time. The dr. however will not operate on him because he’s so small and his equipment and skill on this age are not up to the task. He is therefore referring Little Brother to a pediatric ENT in Atlanta at Emory (two hours away) who can operate on him; we hope. That appointment is July 18. The praise is that until then, we may proceed with life as usual and just keep an eye out for signs of infection. If an infection does set in, he will put on antibiotics and they will move forward more quickly with surgery. So that’s it, still waiting for real answers…

  2. Pingback: What’s up with the monkeys? | Encourage One Another Daily

Share your thoughts...

