Amazing 80s Entertainment

As a child in the 80s, I had some of the best cartoons and TV shows EVER!  I remember watching these shows with my older brother, Tim. Among my favorites were G.I. Joe, a Real American Hero (I hope you sang the tagline as you read it, because I certainly sang it out loud as I typed it.); The Masters of the Universe; The A-Team; The Thundercats (Snarf, again please read that the way the little furry critter said it.); and Jem. After watching these shows we were filled with inspiration. We would play with his action figures and reenact the episodes or make up our own story line.

  • Tim had a fairly complete G.I. Joe action set. I, of course, was always Lady J or Scarlet. And Tim was the hero, always rescuing me from some danger that he had put me in of course.
  • Tim had the Skeletor Castle and various figures and He-Man would lay siege on a regular basis. The castle had a trap door and draw bridge. And it was sooo cool!
  • Tim had the entire A-Team with van and a train set. I remember their toy guns and how particular Tim was the correct weapon went with each man. This was probably my favorite show, because my parents liked to watch it too and, to be honest, Face. 😉
  • I don’t remember having many Thundercat figures, but I think we had a few.  I’m pretty sure I had Snarf, but he always found his way into the Barbie house or My Little Pony castle with my younger sister.
  •  And due to some issues regarding his desire to have wars, Tim never really wanted to play Jem with me. I mean really. But I still loved it and have a 100-piece puzzle in my game closet to prove it. And for similar reasons as my brother I’m sure, my son isn’t really interested in putting it together either.

The best times were when we combined them all (and a rubber-band gun) or when we would get a group of neighborhood kids together and be the characters.  We had woods, a creek, playhouses, and forts. All the good guys would take on the evil ones for hours.  Amazing memories!

I still watch reruns of these shows when I can find them on TV.  And have found several of them on Netflix much to my delight.  They bring back such good memories of a very happy childhood.

Looking back and reflecting, it occurs to me that while each show is great in it’s own right what makes them truly amazing is the team overcoming evil. The hero wasn’t expected to save the day on his own. He had friends who could do things he couldn’t.  He had friends who told him when his ideas were stupid. He had friends that were there even when he did the stupid thing anyway.

Think about the A-Team.  Hannibal was the brains of the operation; “I love it when a plan comes together.” Face had the charm. *Sigh.* Murdock had a little bit of crazy. BA had the muscle and would keep Murdock in line, “I pitty the fool.” They were brilliant together, but as an individual, they could never pull off their own show.

It’s like that in life, we could never pull it off by ourselves. If we are blessed, we have parents to guide us; siblings to share the childhood journey with us; aunts, uncles, and cousins to play with; grandparents to love us and spoil us; mentors to teach us; and friends to grow with. We can’t do it on our own. Life is too hard by ourselves!

It’s like that in your spiritual journey as well. We’re not alone. We have scripture and the Holy Spirit to guide us; small groups to share the journey with us; mission partners to play with; children to love and spoil us with the pure love of God; pastors and leaders to teach us; and brother and sisters in Christ to grow with. Being a Christian is too hard by ourselves!

It’s the concept of the body of Christ. Just as Lion-o had Tygra and Cheetara to help him, so we too have other believers to help us and others who need our help! We are never alone!

 

Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of it. 

~1 Corinthians 12:27

Share your thoughts...

