Finding the Balance

I am working on a sermon for Sunday’s Connections service.  I haven’t preached since I was in college, over 10 years ago, and I hope I’m up to the challenge.  I had a message in my heart to share and my pastor is supporting me.  The scripture found me: Act 1:1-8.  The connection to Memorial Day found me: Denver Truelove.  The movie clip found me: USS Hornet scenes in Pearl Harbor.  I know what I am supposed to share.  It’s the weaving together of all this information that I’m struggling with.

How much scriptural teaching?  How much personal anecdote?  How much Memorial Day?  And once I determine how much.  How do I transition from one to another seamlessly?  I’m still feeling it out.  I keep working at it, just like I keep working at figuring out my life.  How much time should I spend with my kids, my husband?  How much time do I dedicate to study and prayer?  How much time do I dedicate to my job?  How clean does a house really have to be?  What do I sacrifice for the important things in life?   All these questions just go to prove the point of my sermon (spoiler alert for my church family):  God has called you to participate in His ministry and if even through all your questions and doubt, He always helps you complete the task in front of you.  Praises!

4 thoughts on “Finding the Balance

  1. I think you are on to something big! I wish I could be there to hear it…. to hear God working through you! I see your FAITH in a daily sense and I believe that this Sunday many of your new friends are going to see it without a doubt! You are an easy person to “listen” too and very inviting with conversation. I think God will use your personality and style to reach (and excite) many of the group with a dynamic/powerful message…I am saddened that I will not be there, but I am so happy for those who will be!

  2. The Power Point and sermon notes for the bulletin are in. Now all I can do is tweek language and finetune ideas. It’s such a relief. And I feel pretty good about it! It’s lots of read throughs now. If I get a publishable version, I will be sure to share it!

  3. So many questions always isn’t there? I am sure, with your beautiful heart, all is going to go well for you at the Sunday’s Connection Service. As far as all the other and getting it in balance, the first hour of my day is God’s. Short prayers through the rest of the day. Praying while working is something I had to learn to do. Of course prayer at night. As far as the chores and family time, I get lost on those myself. I do not know how clean a house must be, but it must be a lot, because I work in mine all the time. This week I truly just said to heck with it, and took a break:>) Good post and God will give you the words to say. God Bless, SR

    • Thank you for your suggestions for finding balance. I struggle with it so. Hope you have enjoyed your week off of cleaning! I was blessed last night with a small group partner who let me run through the basic ideas of my sermon with her. She gave me some things to think about and a lot of encouragement…just what I needed. God is so faithful! Blessings. ~w

Share your thoughts...

