Real Success

I’m getting very reflective here at the end of the school year.  Tonight is a final cookout with the girls soccer team.  My husband and his assistant coach have worked tirelessly this year.  The players have risen to the challenge and set new school records.  At the end of each season, I create a publication that sums up the season with game summaries, pictures, humor, and reflections by the coaches.

True to form, they are printing now, at the last minute, and I am waiting.   My husband finished his reflections the other night and asked me to read it.  He warned that he stole part of it from my blog, so I’m stealing it back because it inspired me:

What am I most proud of?  I’ve been asked this question a few times in the days since the season came to a close, enough to make me seriously consider my response.  Of course, the easy answer might be to describe how we won our first ever Carolina Athletic Association conference championship with a perfect 8-0 record, outscoring our opponents 39-5.  This may be the obvious choice.  Admittedly, I have answered with this on a few occasions.  Once or twice, an inquiring mind might be privy to more detail about the Eagles’ remarkable season.  Perhaps a list of their “never have we evers:”

  • defeated 3A public Chestatee High School
  • defeated 3A public Franklin High School on their own ground
  • defeated Asheville Christian Academy both home and away
  • scored 7 goals in one game against ACA
  • defeated Carolina Day School at our own home
  • played FOUR top 3A schools in the same season
  • gone undefeated in the CAA conference
  • scored 39 goals in conference play
  • earned a berth into the NCISAA state playoffs

Yes, there are a lot of accomplishments to be proud of!  But what am I “most” proud of?  This:

Dear God, We thank you for this team.  We thank you for keeping us safe.  We ask that you help us keep you in the center of our lives.  We thank you for all the blessings you pour out on each of us.  And ask that they continue.  We thank you God.  We thank you so much.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

This prayer was spoken by Brianna Hydes at the conclusion to one of our “never have we ever” wins somewhere in the middle of the season.   What is remarkable about this team, and about Bri, is that this would have been much the same prayer had we lost that game.  This team has been a virtual love-fest of acceptance and fellowship.  These girls have sweat, fought, learned, encouraged, cried, cheered, prayed, and loved like no team I have ever coached.  What am I most proud of?  That I was a small part of it all.

Share your thoughts...

