Our First Georgia Vegetable Garden (and more flowers)

After three summers of tending exclusively to landscaping and flowers, I have finally gotten to a vegetable garden. The soil, as we have found with the flowers, is tough and mostly clay, so we opted for a raised bed.  We got it at Sam’s Club.  We purchased the soil sometime later and didn’t buy enough, so only half is full and planted.  In the other half, we have two window boxes that we are starting seeds in.  Once they are ready to be transplanted, we will purchase more soil and finish it out.

So what’s in my garden this year?  Beans, peppers, oregano, corn, squash, and zucchini.  The beans came from the my boys’ library project.  The peppers and oregano came from a cute little gardening set my parents gave the boys.  One was a pizza garden and one a salad.  Only Little Brother found the seedlings on the counter and decided to conduct an experiment regarding gravity and force.  Only the peppers and oregano survived his scientific bent.  The corn, squash, and zucchini were planted just today by Little Man and I.  I still need to get a tomato plant, but I think it’s good start.  I don’t know how it is all going to fit, but we’ll make due.  And later this summer, we’ll be able to eat our own veggies!

I also have more flowers to share.  As Morgan Freeman said in Robin Hood-Prince of Thieves, “God loves wondrous variety.”  And so do I, so I plant anything I think is pretty and perennial.

Mixed Dutch Iris and Coral Bells

Gladiolus and Mixed Carnation in the background

Delphinium and Cone Flower

 Roses

 Roses

 Rose Tree and Calla Lily

The Calla Lily is new this year.  I love it’s elegance.

Now, if I only had time to weed and mulch around it.  There are still four flower beds I haven’t gotten to. 😦

3 thoughts on “Our First Georgia Vegetable Garden (and more flowers)

    • We’ve had gardens at our other homes and my husband and I even did my parents garden for several year, but this is our first one here and our first raised bed. Here’s hoping!

  1. Everything looks great and beautiful. I had to finally pull up my flower bed last year. So I do not have it anymore. Thanks for sharing great pictures. I like the flowers against this theme also. God Bless, SR

Share your thoughts...

